Student Filmmakers Commercial Contest

Create a 30-second public service announcement

Each year, BendFilm and the City of Bend host a contest for Future Filmmakers to write and produce a professional TV commercial that will air across Central Oregon. $450 in cash prizes are given to 3 winners each every year. Students in 5th – 12th grade explore specific water pollution topics and create a 30-second public service advertisement.

2024 Applications are open now!

Congratulations to the 2023 One Water Student Video Contest winners!

Liam Schmitt from Bend High takes the highest honors as the Grand Prize winner and will work with Emmy award-winning producer Joe Dean at Central Oregon Daily to produce his video into a professional TV public service announcement.

Olive Stout, also from Bend High, was the 9th – 12th Grade Division Winner, while John Cardwell, a homeschool student, won the 4th – 8th Grade Division Winner.

Mr. Matt Fox, a Media Arts teacher at Bend High, also received acknowledgment for his ongoing and instrumental role in encouraging students to create video submissions for the annual competition.

The One Water Student Video Contest, sponsored by the City of Bend, BendFilm, and Central Oregon Daily, allows students to submit a video on topics related to water quality, protection of the river, and water conservation.  This year the topic was “My Own Front Yard: It’s A Part of the Deschutes Watershed!”




Grand Prize Winner: Betsy Stonich

Division Winners:

10th -12th Grade Division – Quincey Smith, “Love Our River: A how-to guide”

7th – 9th Grader Division – Devin Barnes, “Respecting Our Rivers”



Grand Prize Winner: Betsy Stonich

Division Winners:

9th -12th Graders – Manhattan Wood, “Puppy Pollution

5th – 8th Graders – Devin Barnes, “Bacteria In Our Water!“

The People’s Choice Award: Manhattan Wood, “Puppy Pollution



Division Winners:

4th/5th – 8th: Dylan Laughery, “SOS – Save Our Seas

9th – 12th: Megan Koblegarde, “Bend Waterworks Tire / Microplastics PSA

The People’s Choice Award: Megan Koblegarde, “Bend Waterworks Tire / Microplastics PSA”



Grand Prize ($150) and People’s Choice Award ($100):
Cedar Vickery, Summit High School

Left to Right: Grand Prize & Audience Choice-Winner Ella Schubert, Wendy Edde (City of Bend Stormwater), Todd Looby (BendFilm Executive Director), Christina Davenport (City of Bend), Grand Prize Winning co-Producer, George Plumleigh, Bend City Councilor Bruce Abernathy, Michele O’Hara (Central Oregon Daily).

Division Winners:

9th – 12th Grade Division Award ($100):
Colin Brown, Bend High School

5th – 8th Grade Division Award ($100):
Ella Schubert, Pacific Crest Middle School